Author Topic: How do you deal with Flame Dawn  (Read 1016 times)

wham

How do you deal with Flame Dawn
« on: April 09, 2015, 05:33:32 PM »
I was just reflecting on my experiences, when as a newbie, my karani deck was only able to be outscaled by one deck - Flame Dawn.

The problem I was having then was that although you can bring out one or two defenders by turn three or four to stop a FD rush, they can simply be stumbled back into support. Hermit solves this by haste creatures and having the best token generation in the game - Eucalyptus tree. But those options aren't really available to pure WP, where you need larger creatures in order to trade effectively with your opponent, and any haste defender gets 1hit by kali.

The warpath player can't really defend until they get a 3 cost beast out, at which point they may have already lost 20-30 hp, and it will get immediately stumbled and a lucky opponent will have an opportunity to hit you quite hard. At that point a game could easily be finished by a charge Shikana, Sacculas, or calamity.

Off the top of my head, I can think of only two methods warpath has to avoid soft control like stumble, which could otherwise easily steal the game from the WP player, both of which are resource inefficient and probably quite hard to pull off.

What do you think? Does warpath need low drops? Does warpath need a Gao Han? Does Warpath need to Gao home?

Offline HeliosAFlame

• View Profile
Re: How do you deal with Flame Dawn
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 05:40:26 PM »