Author Topic: Attack Ability vs. Buff Ability  (Read 2691 times)

Offline Agrivane

• View Profile
Attack Ability vs. Buff Ability
« on: April 13, 2014, 11:59:52 PM »

I started playing Sleepers and noticed something I don't really understand as a game mechanic (much like I don't get why temporal anomalies reset characters), if you have a 2/2 character such as those produced by Overwhelming Dead buffed to 3/3 by Plaguebearer and an opponent plays Heat Wave, all the 3/3 characters are destroyed instead of being reduced to 2/1.  This seems odd as the attack is affecting all the characters at the same time, rather than removing Plaguebearer first and then hitting the rest.

Offline Symphony

• "...you've met with a terrible fate, haven't you?"
    • View Profile
Re: Attack Ability vs. Buff Ability
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 12:17:09 AM »
It's the same thing with Pack Leaders. My guess is that the buffed health is calculated last, as in they're the last health points the character has.
So what happens is, the heatwave deals 2 damage to everything, reducing the tokens to 3/1, with the remaining health being provided by the bearer. When it dies, they all go together.

Offline Agrivane

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 12:43:34 AM »
Sure, but as the bearer is only 2/2 it's destroyed in the same instant that the others are 3/3.   It's that instantaneous / simultaneous bit that vexes me.   

Offline valzyf

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2014, 12:56:23 AM »
It IS destroyed at the same time, but the Heat Wave is doing damage to their base/unbuffed health. The only reason they WOULD still have 1 health is because of the Plaguebearer, but if it dies they lose 1/1 and are left at 0 health, so they die. The Plaguebearer buff is only temporary for as long as it is on the field, the same as Pack Leaders.

Idk, I know how and why it works, but I don't know if I really explain it well.