infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: nickellicker on August 05, 2014, 06:55:24 PM

Title: Shield Generator wording
Post by: nickellicker on August 05, 2014, 06:55:24 PM
Anyone else agree the wording for this card should be slightly changed?  Right now it states "At the start of your turn, sacrifice a character....."  This leads me to believe the card works like an ability however that is not the case.  If it was worded "At the start of each turn...."  this would avoid much confusion.  This would put the card in line with wording found on Unstable bomb-bot which I believe acts in the same manner.
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: nickellicker on August 05, 2014, 07:18:15 PM
Wanted to give an example of why I'm asking for this... For instance I played a Wreckful Walrus on my initiative to take out my opponents Shield generator.  Wreckful walrus states "When you play this card, destroy target artifact."  However my opponents shield generator initiated its ability before my walrus.
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: Coolsy101 on August 05, 2014, 09:47:42 PM
Wanted to give an example of why I'm asking for this... For instance I played a Wreckful Walrus on my initiative to take out my opponents Shield generator.  Wreckful walrus states "When you play this card, destroy target artifact."  However my opponents shield generator initiated its ability before my walrus.

The most likely reason why it initiated first is because he / she had the initiative. The wording, changed or not, still means the same thing to me, in my opinion
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: nickellicker on August 05, 2014, 10:59:28 PM
Wanted to give an example of why I'm asking for this... For instance I played a Wreckful Walrus on my initiative to take out my opponents Shield generator.  Wreckful walrus states "When you play this card, destroy target artifact."  However my opponents shield generator initiated its ability before my walrus.

The most likely reason why it initiated first is because he / she had the initiative. The wording, changed or not, still means the same thing to me, in my opinion

I had initiative.. made sure of it.  Would not matter either way as why i'm asking for the wording to be changed.
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: Heart on August 05, 2014, 11:05:00 PM
Did the opponent already sacrifice units the turn before you tried to walrus?
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: nickellicker on August 05, 2014, 11:18:50 PM
yes it was in play the previous turn
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: Heart on August 05, 2014, 11:40:34 PM
There is some interaction with shield generator that Im aware of, if they are able to get off their first turn of invinciblility, they can basically ensure it continues as long as they attempt to keep sacrificing. In this case, even though you destroyed it, the effect will continue on for one more turn because of how the card operates, not because of any priority effects. 
Of course maybe they changed it in the last 6 months, but im not sure.
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: lEFGl on August 10, 2014, 07:12:17 PM
I think it might be a bug, though I could be wrong, but it seems a lot of cards, such as lanstead (Which will still activate even when its in the grave yard if you used it while it was on the field.) so what I think is happening is, because the sacrifice is asked for at the beginning of the turn for your opponent, that action still goes through even if you destroy the card and it's in the grave yard the creature will be sacrificed and the effect will happen for that turn.

To me it sounds like a bug, I really hope it isn't intentional.  I'm fairly certain I've been in some game recently where my sheild gen was destroyed and that had happend.
Title: Re: Shield Generator wording
Post by: WWKnight on August 11, 2014, 12:35:53 PM
Its not a bug.  Things arent invulnerable the turn you play it, but they are invulnerable the turn it is destroyed.

Because its protection lasts from the beginning of the turn, not in the middle, it will keep generating shields after its been powered down for one turn.

The game between cthulu and I demonstrates this well.