infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: aldin on June 12, 2014, 01:23:53 PM

Title: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: aldin on June 12, 2014, 01:23:53 PM
I'm specifically thinking of Angel of Virtue (I think that's the name), but I suspect he won't be the only one like this.  I see he Ascends when there are 7 Angels, but is he still ascended if he HAD seven but now has five?  Also, when an Ascended card leaves the game and then returns, is it still ascended or does it unascend?
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: Thechynd on June 12, 2014, 02:59:05 PM
Angel of virtue doesn't lose his ascended status when you go below 7 angels. A few quick tests show that a character will also keep its ascended status even if you remove it from the game with temporal anomaly, return it to your hand with intervention or kill it.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: aldin on June 12, 2014, 03:26:09 PM
Impressive.  Thanks for checking that out, Thechynd!  Makes Intervention a lot more interesting.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: Benionin on June 12, 2014, 06:25:34 PM
It is interesting though, because the wording on Angel of Virtue made me think that it was state-based (not to mention that his buff ability goes on the stack, as it were), but it isn't. Which makes him better.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: chaosangel2112 on June 12, 2014, 10:14:02 PM
This irritates me greatly.  If you bounce or raise a creature it gets reset.  Period.  Unless card text of some sort states otherwise.  Returning something to you hand is a new mechanic but I don't see why it shouldn't reset a creature as well.  If it's removed from play for whatever reason, cards should be hard reset.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: wham on June 12, 2014, 11:58:10 PM
This irritates me greatly.  If you bounce or raise a creature it gets reset.  Period.  Unless card text of some sort states otherwise.  Returning something to you hand is a new mechanic but I don't see why it shouldn't reset a creature as well.  If it's removed from play for whatever reason, cards should be hard reset.

As people were discussing in the 'remove from the game inconsistent' thread, a bounce is a hard reset on stat buffs, but does not have any effect on things like poisoned, enraged (the reason why a Dropbear returns as 1/5 enraged) or other abilities/passive effects.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: Vyltyx on June 13, 2014, 01:24:22 PM
This irritates me greatly.  If you bounce or raise a creature it gets reset.  Period.  Unless card text of some sort states otherwise.  Returning something to you hand is a new mechanic but I don't see why it shouldn't reset a creature as well.  If it's removed from play for whatever reason, cards should be hard reset.

As people were discussing in the 'remove from the game inconsistent' thread, a bounce is a hard reset on stat buffs, but does not have any effect on things like poisoned, enraged (the reason why a Dropbear returns as 1/5 enraged) or other abilities/passive effects.

In my opinion, this should change. Not only is a complete hard reset much easier to understand, but it also opens a greater depth of strategy (resetting enrage, saving a character from status effects, etc.)
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: jgsnowbaorder on June 26, 2014, 06:39:12 AM
I'm with vyltyx here. hard resets should be done whenever something is removed from play, which would include if something is killed then revived.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: DrayGon777 on June 26, 2014, 11:07:44 AM
As long as it doesn't break the cards that are supposed to maintain their self buffs through death (or potentially other remove from play effects), I'm for it. Then again, certain ones might be a little bit OP, for instance a Granthar that can be used to enrage again taking out another character on the battlefield.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: TimetoSplit on June 30, 2014, 03:23:04 AM
As long as it doesn't break the cards that are supposed to maintain their self buffs through death (or potentially other remove from play effects), I'm for it. Then again, certain ones might be a little bit OP, for instance a Granthar that can be used to enrage again taking out another character on the battlefield.

It seems kind of potent with Granthar, but the cost is still quite high for the enrage, not to mention the "opportunity" cost for whatever you use to remove it from the game and return it again (such as 2 & a card with Anomaly, or 5 & a card with Kidnapper, etc.).  At any rate, I see no problem with this, as the combo seems fine.
Title: Re: Can an Ascended character "un-ascend"?
Post by: chaosangel2112 on June 30, 2014, 03:53:00 AM
Yeah granthar is potent but if you have the resources and foresight to pack intervention, kidnapper or TA then by all means spend turns six, seven and eigbt killing two.critters.