infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: Noobshock on April 02, 2014, 10:21:30 AM

Title: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Noobshock on April 02, 2014, 10:21:30 AM
I'm thinking specifically about the FD Ransacker here, since even disarmed and doing 0 damage he will trigger the 3 damage to support zone.

Teremus explained your philosophy, which is that basically 0 damage is still damage for all intents and purposes. I understand it's convenient from the designer's perspective for a few reasons, but an ability thats says it triggers off damage firing off off 0 damage is pretty counterintuitive (keyword here). The character I immediately thought about to kind of make sense of this idea was the Flame Ram, BUT! the Flame Ram is actually worded differently: "If Flame Ram directly attacks an enemy fortress, it deals 15 damage".

If anything, if the "0 damage is still damage" approach remains as it is, the wording on Ransacker should be changed for clarity. At least the Flame Ram does it right, and doesn't feel counterintuitive even to an inexperienced player.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Vyltyx on April 03, 2014, 02:57:42 PM
this also works for Fleeting Footman, the invincible defender's ability procs when he hits it. According to the coding, they are entering combat, even when the card says instead of entering combat, fleeting retreats to the support zone :/

Honestly, I main DoD, so I almost don't want fleeting footman to change, but I care more about correct syntax.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: opferunm on April 05, 2014, 04:58:55 PM
As stated before, there are a lot of inconsistencies regarding fleeting footman; he triggers invincible but doesn't immolate with a brimstone, for example.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: nightfreeze on April 18, 2014, 09:25:49 PM
Immolate only triggers when you deal damage to something.  Fleeting footman doesn't deal any damage.  Therefore he shouldn't trigger immolate damage with brimstone.  That isn't inconsistent at least. :p
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Screamindiz on April 23, 2014, 05:01:10 AM
I agree.  Damage should be set to 1 or >=1.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Kirrund on May 31, 2014, 11:06:59 PM
Immolate only triggers when you deal damage to something.  Fleeting footman doesn't deal any damage.  Therefore he shouldn't trigger immolate damage with brimstone.  That isn't inconsistent at least. :p

Fleeting Footman however does get Immolated if he blocks an immolating attacker.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Wildblade on June 15, 2014, 05:30:42 PM
Immolate only triggers when you deal damage to something.  Fleeting footman doesn't deal any damage.  Therefore he shouldn't trigger immolate damage with brimstone.  That isn't inconsistent at least. :p

Fleeting Footman however does get Immolated if he blocks an immolating attacker.

no he doesnt
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Kirrund on June 21, 2014, 06:47:48 AM
He did at one point, I submitted it as a bug, guess it got fixed.
Title: Re: "zero damage is still damage"
Post by: Held on August 01, 2014, 05:57:33 PM
I think they changed something with immolate and fleeting footman some patches ago. With the release of the f.footman my Kali immolated him and killed him by that. But now it does not get immolated.
To the ransacker: I declare myself in favour of changing the text to "when he attacks the enemies fortress [...]"