infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: Berabouman on March 26, 2014, 03:32:52 PM

Title: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Berabouman on March 26, 2014, 03:32:52 PM
I don't have mine yet, and I was curious, so...

1. Can you use it with sacrifice effects? It does say "die" so sacrifices should count right?

2. In order to kill a creature with Primal Rage on it, you would need to Death Ray it twice right?

I had a third question but I can't remember what it was now. Oh well.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: DefenestratedCow on March 26, 2014, 11:18:26 PM
I believe it says "The next time it would die from damage" so neither of those would work.  Sorry!
-DefenestratedCow
Edit: Also, I don't think sacrifices count as dying anyways.  They don't cause morale loss, they don't buff death worshippers, etc.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: DrayGon777 on March 27, 2014, 02:01:10 AM
Primal Rage is only due to damage effects, thus it's only good for surviving a Lightning Blast, Firebolt, Yuanshi's Wrath, Heat Wave, and other similar effects outside of normal combat. I can see this being really useful as an extra hit on an Unstoppable character, however, which is pretty nasty on it's own. All in all, I can see this card being very useful, and giving WP another card to include in their decks beside Fight!, Untapped Wilderness, and Character cards.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: TimetoSplit on April 01, 2014, 03:10:18 AM
Yeah Primal Rage will combo with a lot of stuff quite nicely.  Martyr Golem, Spirit of the Ancient Guardians, anything with Unstoppable, Invincible Defender (more morale damage), immolate characters (ensuring that more of your opponent's cards become immolated), hydra, infect creatures (especially the dragon), Consume, Defiant Hermit, or ridiculous plays like Primal Rage onto your Aspirant into Winds of War or something strange like that. :)
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: DrayGon777 on April 01, 2014, 03:50:56 AM
You've made me want a full set of these cards now. :P
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Tony8808 on April 19, 2014, 04:53:53 AM
I've tried comboing primal rage with mammoth in a bot battle and the mammoth does not go for another attack after dying for the first time in combat against a character it killed. It just survives with 1 hp and the next card in line attacks.

Does anyone else have results to the contrary and is this intended behavior?
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: DefenestratedCow on April 20, 2014, 09:49:00 PM
This definitely sounds like it's not intended.  I'd file a bug report if I were you.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Screamindiz on April 23, 2014, 04:55:18 AM
I can confirm that survival from primal rage does indeed stop unstoppable.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Swiftwynd on July 07, 2014, 10:14:51 AM
It should prevent death effects not just combat damage,  so if it isnt please bug report it. The text was changed from the preview so it intentional.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: chaosangel2112 on July 12, 2014, 05:29:40 PM
Prima rage does not bestow and extra life upon splitter bot or unstable bomb bot nuking itself.

I believe it is because card text trumps extras.  It also leads me to wonder about 'Rage interactions with cyberinfested, soulsellers -1/-1, infected monk/purifier, resolute knight and sub dragon.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: chaosangel2112 on July 12, 2014, 05:31:08 PM
I believe it says "The next time it would die from damage" so neither of those would work.  Sorry!
-DefenestratedCow
Edit: Also, I don't think sacrifices count as dying anyways.  They don't cause morale loss, they don't buff death worshippers, etc.

Yet sac'ing zombies to summoner of the deep boosts zomb scavenger.  Have not tested this with secluded yet.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Qarnij on July 12, 2014, 11:15:38 PM
Primal does not work with unstoppable characters currently. I am guessing it currently works like this : character dies, then revives with 1 health, thus stopping the unstoppable effect (that sounded weird).
Also, Primal Rage currently does not persist after the turn it was cast, something that the wording suggests otherwise.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Pjoelj on July 15, 2014, 02:05:36 PM
I gave it a go. It does not stop sacrifice effects from going off. It does, however, reduce the affected character's health to 1 before the character is sacrificed, so don't use it to buff something before having secluded eat it.
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Onyx on July 20, 2014, 11:50:54 AM
I believe it says "The next time it would die from damage" so neither of those would work.  Sorry!
-DefenestratedCow
Edit: Also, I don't think sacrifices count as dying anyways.  They don't cause morale loss, they don't buff death worshippers, etc.

It does not say "(...) it would die from damage (...)", it just says "(...) The next time it would die, (...)."
Yet another card that puffed me over (wanted to dodge Tome of the Dead).

As to sacrificing: Resolve of the Dragon mentions dying to sacrifice effects and that it doesn't trigger on those specidic deaths.
Primal Rage doesn't trigger on sacrifice deaths (which, of course, it doesn't mention).
Title: Re: Primal Rage questions!
Post by: Held on August 01, 2014, 08:58:32 PM
[...]
Edit: Also, I don't think sacrifices count as dying anyways.  They don't cause morale loss, they don't buff death worshippers, etc.
Dying include sacrifices. It triggers effects like the one from wrapped swarmer and zombie scavanger. But "sacrifice" is not a "kill", so one does not loose moral. And the text of the Death worshipper reads: "Whenever an enemy character dies without being sacrificed, Verore Death Worshipper gets +2/+2"