infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: Berabouman on March 05, 2014, 03:43:48 AM

Title: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Berabouman on March 05, 2014, 03:43:48 AM
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?
Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Erlaya on March 05, 2014, 05:29:47 AM
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?

1 - No
2 - No
3 - I don't know!
4 - I believe it is a bug
5 - You get two of that card
Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Cthulhu Girl on March 05, 2014, 05:34:51 AM
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

No, he doesn't fail his sacrifice ability because it doesn't go off.

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

It's ability will no longer go off, because it's no longer in a position (the graveyard) to activate its ability.

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

Suppress negates the activated ability, so the sacrifice should no longer go off since the ability to which it is being sacrificed is no longer valid.

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

Though I don't know if this if officially a bug or not, I believe it is since there is an inconsistency: When sacrificing a creature to secluded constructor, it is not considered targeting and thus can't be blocked by Deflect which I have been told is correct behavior.

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?

The character will be raised from the graveyard and both copies will be in play at the same time. This also happens with Aletas when they raise from themselves from the graveyard after 6 turns if you've played another since their death. This has been confirmed as correct behavior.
Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Berabouman on March 05, 2014, 04:06:41 PM
Thanks for the replies! Seems like initiative is quite a game-breaker whether or not you have it...

Another question - do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?
Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Cthulhu Girl on March 05, 2014, 04:19:44 PM
do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?

Yes, characters come into play first. Then abilities go off. Then characters attack. Then any end of turn effects happen. All relevant effects have the person with turn priority go first. See http://www.infinitywarsgame.com/rulebook/rules/turn_order for a complete explanation.
Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: Vyltyx on March 06, 2014, 11:06:45 PM
Thanks for the replies! Seems like initiative is quite a game-breaker whether or not you have it...

Another question - do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?

Sometimes it's best to not have initiative. For instance, if you play yuanshi's wrath, and your opponent plays Call the Crusade, initiative determines whether or not you are going to get hit with 12 damage or not. If the enemy has initiative, their crusade happens first, summoning the aspirants. Your wrath then goes off, killing all of them. In the opposite case (you have initiative), your wrath goes off before Crusade, meaning they kind of "slipped by" your ability.

Title: Re: Some assorted rules questions
Post by: DrayGon777 on March 18, 2014, 07:39:32 PM
Would like to add that if a unique character is removed from play to later return on a following turn (I.E. Kidnapper), then that's another way to get multiples of a unique, and in some cases the only way (I.E. Ao Shun).