infinity wars game Community Forums

Infinity Wars => News and Developer Talk => Game Rules => Topic started by: stylescres on August 14, 2013, 05:29:12 PM

Title: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: stylescres on August 14, 2013, 05:29:12 PM
It doesn't make sense to me because the idea of genesis is reconstruction. If every little bot I reconstruct is going to make all the worshippers +1/+1 it's almost game over (this happened to me earlier, and I'm not blaming this mechanic but it definitely screwed me over towards the end). I get things like Shikana being sacrifice and a few other cards where the unit is simply dead, but I see genesis as reusing parts, materials, energy, etc.

Am I alone here?
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Teremus on August 14, 2013, 05:57:35 PM
Genesis is not the only culprit of this mechanic, and it is intended.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Hitori on August 14, 2013, 08:36:34 PM
Here, read this for some more QQ (written by myself):

http://lightmare.com.au/forum/index.php?topic=13873.0
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: stylescres on August 14, 2013, 10:01:12 PM
Well poop.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 04:00:03 AM
Yeah you would think that with CoV countering GI in every other way that something like this wouldn't be necessary and frankly it isn't...
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 12:01:59 PM
I would think that artificial units wouldn't affect VDW, but that might nerf them a bit too much.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 12:30:02 PM
It would nerf them too much to not automatically counter the most underplayed faction? ???
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 12:32:10 PM
I'd argue that warpath is the most underplayed, but regardless, VDWs are not very good to begin with. They have that one thing going for them.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 12:35:22 PM
I have yet to find another player who runs a 2 purity GI deck, including a game or two against Hitori. On the other hand, I have run into numerous 3 purity WP decks, most of which have beaten my 2 purity GI decks. (CURSE YOU FIGHT! >:()
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 12:37:13 PM
Both of my decks are 2GI :D One splashed with DoD, one with FD. Dat Angelify. Anyway, GI is quite often played, it's just almost literally always splashed into another faction.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 12:55:29 PM
Quite often played as a 1 purity splash, most notably for 2 FD 1 GI.

The faction has very little ability to stand on its own and is used almost exclusively in a support roll. (even in 2 purity variations of the FD rush) Looking at a lot of the cards from Rise though, this may not be an issue for long.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Erlaya on August 15, 2013, 01:03:14 PM
The only faction that I often see played as 3 purity is WP.  The others almost always splash.  I'm amazed every few days when I run into another 3 purity FD player.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 01:11:11 PM
What Erlaya said. 3 purity decks are quite rare, the only ones I ever see are WP. But I agree, Genesis is next to useless on its own, but it excels in a support role.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Zinqf on August 15, 2013, 01:14:52 PM
The only faction that I often see played as 3 purity is WP.  The others almost always splash.  I'm amazed every few days when I run into another 3 purity FD player.
3 FD purity is strong because 2 FD purity is strong. The good news for 3 Purity FD is that you'll be getting Bloodbath. Which will be a hard counter finisher vs decks using Mass Death when you use it on the opponent's initiative (Move everything to your support zone, bloodbath triggers and moves everything to assault for 2 attacks).

The card will indeed be valuable when it comes out for sure because it is one of the couple of viable 3 purity spells out there. (The card was already revealed so I can talk about it lol)

And I say "One of" because there's another one coming out and its for GI. AND NO ONE IS GONNA KNOW WHAT IT IS UNTIL THE 17TH! Bwahaha xD.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 01:17:46 PM
elfugeiorsergfeourygfergyuergt viable 3GI purity yesssssss
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Zinqf on August 15, 2013, 01:22:33 PM
elfugeiorsergfeourygfergyuergt viable 3GI purity yesssssss
For 48 hours roughly, your mind will be screwed. Have a nice day XD.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 01:23:46 PM
I probably won't even really get to play much until next Thursday at least, really :(
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 01:24:27 PM
The root of my point was that warpath, particularly in higher purity levels, is played more than GI. The sub-point was that GI, at present, struggles at being anything but second banana to another, more solid faction.

I am not; however, claiming that most factions are best played at 3 purity or that warpath is super popular in 3 purity.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 01:27:59 PM
I totally agree about GI. I'm just saying it makes a damn useful secondary faction, arguably even the best secondary faction, and it's very often used in that role.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Zinqf on August 15, 2013, 01:35:35 PM
With recent changes, I can say with confidence that GI is a viable SINGLE, DOUBLE or TRIPLE purity faction in decks that will show up in the meta.

Warpath and Sleepers will also have some powerful single and double purity presence in combination with certain factions at even the highest levels of play.

Verore and Flame Dawn are still going to be extremely powerful, they'll just have answers outside their faction now.

DoD will now have reasons to drop a 2nd verore purity to get a 2nd DoD purity. That's saying a lot.

Things have come along quite a bit. This set is going to be worth the hype.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 01:49:53 PM
I already spotted a combo waiting to happen between GI and Sleepers.

Hint: Side effects may include insomnia. (2 card combo, 1 from each faction)
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:03:01 PM
You talking about Awaken and Splitter Robot? That'll be a fun one.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Zinqf on August 15, 2013, 02:04:40 PM
You talking about Awaken and Splitter Robot? That'll be a fun one.
You are only scratching the surface XD.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:06:42 PM
You talking about Awaken and Splitter Robot? That'll be a fun one.

Nope, not even close. 8)
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:10:13 PM
Undead Corruption + Zom-B-Gone?

Edit: The more I look at that combo the more broken it seems.

Edit2: Probably not, I doubt you'll be able to play Zom-B-Gone the same turn you play Undead Corruption since it wouldn't target non-undead.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:19:34 PM
Undead Corruption + Zom-B-Gone?

Edit: The more I look at that combo the more broken it seems.

Edit2: Probably not, I doubt you'll be able to play Zom-B-Gone the same turn you play Undead Corruption since it wouldn't target non-undead.

Ding ding ding!

Also keep in mind that you can play the cards in order and target illegal targets. (it just prompts you that the target is currently illegal)

[Edit] For added kicks and reliability against CoV you can add in Anti Air Missile.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:21:27 PM
Eh, that usually only relates to targets that are illegal because of the zone they're in. For example, Secluded Constructor can't target non-artificial characters to sacrifice.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:22:46 PM
I'm betting that, that's just because there are no other circumstances at the moment. You could check with Anti Air Missile I suppose.

[Edit] If not I'll go complain on the suggestion forum until they fix it. 8)
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:26:09 PM
We'll see. My personal opinion, however, is that an immediate character steal for 4 resources, even if it requires a two card combo, is a little too powerful.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:30:14 PM
What are you going to steal early on that would be that big of a deal? It does not work on commanders. Also there is currently 4th turn "summon anything" strat with awaken.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:33:22 PM
It's more that later in the game you'll be able to steal any character on the battlefield with resources to spare.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:34:37 PM
Also keep in mind that even if it didn't work on the same turn, you can still cast 1 on turn 2 and then another on turn 3 for an even faster utilization, though I really do not see the point of stealing... what, a knight?
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:35:43 PM
Turn 4 could mean a 9/9 knight if the opponent is playing bionic dawn :P
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:37:16 PM
I just realized that Patient Zero's ability costs exactly 8... ;D Hue ;D Hue ;D Hue

Also, I'm pretty sure the stats would reset.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:38:47 PM
Resetting stats are dumb >:(
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 15, 2013, 02:45:42 PM
This may actually turn out to be very useful for sniping support characters, since it does not have the same restriction as Death Ray. The trade off being the requirement of 2 exact cards.

[Edit] As an added note, imagine Corruption with Low Orbit Ion Cannon. 8) (totally legal)
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: NikP1 on August 15, 2013, 02:49:33 PM
Basically, SA+GI OP.

Wow, I'm surprised to see that LOIC is only 1 purity. It seems like it should be 2.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 16, 2013, 01:18:13 AM
Everyone keeps saying that Rise ends rush decks, but I feel like LOIC does more to help rush decks than hurt them. Consider Bionic Commando which typically has a small number of creatures on the field compared to Warpath, Sleepers, or DoD. Yes, it will damage a paladin, but it won't be as harmful when used against the Paladin as it is when used against the factions.

I strongly wish that is was 2 purity to be honest, it would give incentive to use GI as a main focus rather than support.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Zinqf on August 16, 2013, 08:29:27 AM
Basically, SA+GI OP.

Wow, I'm surprised to see that LOIC is only 1 purity. It seems like it should be 2.
It is. The RISE teaser video says "All cards are subject to change" for a reason.
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Viquel on August 16, 2013, 08:41:53 AM
It is. The RISE teaser video says "All cards are subject to change" for a reason.

In fact there won't be a single unchanged card! (double-value balance, new layout :D )
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: WWKnight on August 16, 2013, 09:36:14 AM
The three purity card for genesis will pretty much make them indestructible..
Title: Re: Should genesis sac'ing count towards verore death worship?
Post by: Kilroy512 on August 16, 2013, 09:58:43 AM
The three purity card for genesis will pretty much make them indestructible..

Hue, hue, hue! 8)